top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDonna

From my personal journal, 11/26/06

Preface: in 2006, I worked for Private Healthcare Systems, which was bought by another company, and I was going to lose my job in April 2007. So I started interviewing to avoid being unemployed yet again. Little did I know what fall 2012 was going to bring....but I digress...


From 2006:


I'm not making this up; the following was really said. I interviewed with the CEO of ABC Mortgage in Sudbury, the day after Thanksgiving, for an unknown position. When I asked what I was interviewing for, he said, "To become a ABC employee."


CEO: Where are you from?

Me: Boxboro.

CEO: No. Where are you really from?

Me: South Philadelphia. Why do you ask?

CEO: I've lived in Boston all my life and never heard anyone talk like that.


In response to when I explained why I had Thanksgiving with friends instead of family:

When you get married and have kids, then have grandkids, you will finally experience the rewards of family.


Gee, thanks Mr. Bunker!


When he asked me what I was looking for in a job and to my response, which was, "job stability," he responded:

The reason why all the jobs are going to India is because all the dot heads are much more educated than the Americans. Same with those Chinese people.


Which explains why an idiot like you is a CEO in the USA...


I met with him at 9:00 and it was 11:00 when he decided I should sit with someone and watch them work. I sat there for 15 minutes while this guy droned on about the job and I watched the clock on his computer. I had to be in Bedford at noon, dressed casually. I was dressed in one of my infamous suits, pacing inside my head. At 11:15, I excused myself, drove home, rushed to change, but did make it to Bedford by 12:05 PM.


When I got home at 8:00 PM, there was a voice mail on my phone for a second interview...of course. Why would I draw a second interview for a desirable job :)


Gobble, gobble from...

The About to be Unemployed :)


"We are Satan's elves, making toys in hell :)"

(borrowed from my friend Dave)



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Own Personal Mommie Dearest

The basement flooded very badly this past spring and Dave wants to have it water proofed. Understandable. But this meant renting a storage unit so that all of the stuff I just moved in from my condo c

July 4th - The best holiday of them all

I have had several talks with myself about the pros and cons of posting publicly about one's personal experience with depression, but I have ultimately opted to keep going with this. Wix doesn't tell

Depression - The Gift that Keeps on Giving

They (whoever "they" are) say that journaling helps alleviate depression. Hello world, here I am, trying to alleviate my depression. When the depression first took over my life the weekend of my birth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page