top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDonna

My Website, My Opinion - Good bye Donald Trump!


The above link is to a video Jimmy Kimmel posted saying farewell to Donald Trump.


The Trump supporters find it very offensive. Well, all I can say to that is, I find Donald Trump to be very offensive.


My friend Wendy says it best. The following is what she wrote on 1/21/17, four years ago.


January 21, 2017

"To the people who think the protesters are "sore losers" or are marching because Hillary lost you are completely missing the point. This has nothing to do with Hillary. In fact if she had lost to Jeb Bush or Mitt Romney you would not see a movement like this happening. What this protest is about is the man who is now our President. He has shown disrespect for women, the disabled, and Muslims. He believes it's completely okay to sexually assault women and then joke about it with his friends. He believes climate change is a hoax when science shows us otherwise. He is taking steps to move us backward on healthcare, reproductive rights and climate change to name just a few issues. His speech yesterday was disturbing and alienating to many of us and did nothing to gain us allies with world leaders. He has appointed billionaire cronies with little or no understanding of the departments they are appointed to lead. These are the reasons we are mad and upset. Not because the candidate we wanted lost, but because the man who won is so abhorrent to everything we believe."


When Trump was elected, I said to myself, how bad can it really be? Far worse than I could have ever imagined. Can Joe Biden fix it? Honestly, I have no idea. Do I agree with his policies? No, not all of them. But Joe Biden has been showing what appears to be genuine EFFORT and that was not an attribute of the Trump administration.


The past 4 years, I have lived in a world totally foreign to me; cut off from the rest of the world by a tyrant who showed complete disregard for the leaders of the free world. And from that perspective, I can truly understand why the Trump followers are so upset. Now they are the ones living in a foreign world, a world where the ideals of the new administration go against their own. "We are going to be a Communist country now!", as spoken by friends of mine who support Trump. So I get it. I do understand. I lived it for 4 years.


I don't know if we the people can ever be united. But I do hope the current administration does it' s best to appeal to both sides.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Own Personal Mommie Dearest

The basement flooded very badly this past spring and Dave wants to have it water proofed. Understandable. But this meant renting a storage unit so that all of the stuff I just moved in from my condo c

July 4th - The best holiday of them all

I have had several talks with myself about the pros and cons of posting publicly about one's personal experience with depression, but I have ultimately opted to keep going with this. Wix doesn't tell

Depression - The Gift that Keeps on Giving

They (whoever "they" are) say that journaling helps alleviate depression. Hello world, here I am, trying to alleviate my depression. When the depression first took over my life the weekend of my birth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page