top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDonna

On And On It Goes...

The other day I was at the grocery store and could not find Hartz Lickable Treats. When I came home, I went on Amazon to order it and every bit of it was out of stock. So I Googled "Has Hartz discontinued Lickable Treats?" No. They have not discontinued Lickable Treats. This is a very popular cat food and they ran out of it. They ran out of it because COVID-19 has struck their work force to the extent of requiring a temporary shut down of their plants.


You go States, Texas and Mississippi! Throw those masks away, go out there and party! Nothing to worry about! No such thing as COVID-19, nothing our God can't fix! Yeah, throw away those masks...


I am not saying the Hartz plants are in Texas and Mississippi. I don't know where the Hartz plants are. But I do know this: if all 50 states don't continue being cautious until the day this pandemic is under control, then it's not going to matter where plants are located.


COVID-19 doesn't really give a damn about human beings and their "freedom". It's a virus and it does what viruses do, no matter how smart or stupid the human population. It infects anyone it can. It has no prejudices, no cares, no concerns and it is not fake. No, this is not "fake news", this is reality.


How is it that the Republican Party has gone from conservatism to replicating the golden calf out of the old testament? How is it that someone like Marjorie Tayler Greene can go around saying that Sandy Hook was a hoax, thereby causing her idiot followers to harass people who lost their young children? Is it not bad enough that they suffered a great loss? So now people like her have unleashed people like her to HARASS the parents of children killed at their school. WTF?


Corporate America never misses the opportunity to make a buck in the midst of chaos. I eventually found someone who has a supply of Hartz Lickable Treats in stock. 18 packets for $60.00. That's $3.00 a packet. It ordinarily sells for $1.09 a packet. If it wasn't for Lacey, I would not have ordered this food, but she is a picky eater, and this is one of the few things I can get her to eat.


So I paid the $60.00 and am hoping it's genuine Hartz Lickable Treats. I hope I'll be able to tell that it is. God help this person if they sold me something that is harmful to my cat. I will track them down and sue them for every penny they're worth, plus pennies they don't have. I take the well-being of my cats very seriously.


And speaking of Corporate America, since unemployment hovers between 10 and 20 million people, employers are quick to point out to those of us still working how lucky we are to have jobs. I get it, yes, I am grateful, but....


Right before the pandemic, I enjoyed a 40 hour work week and full weekends all to myself. A year later, I find myself working 7 days a week and conversing on Saturdays and Sundays with my fellow coworkers on work issues. It has gotten to the point where even working 7 days a week is not enough to keep my job current.


Fortunately, we finally replaced the awesome accountant who left on 4/10/20 with another equally awesome accountant (did not think that was possible, but alas, it happened!), but like a rock that has been under a waterfall for years, I am starting to erode. I am fatigued to the point of needing 10 hours of sleep a day, despite daily exercise and healthy eating habits. My manager recently went on a fit of rage that lasted 2 weeks and since I am her favorite target during these events, I have an inbox full of spite and rage at some of the mistakes I made.


When she lambasted me in an e-mail to the owners of the company for missing setting up a vendor credit and thereby not recording that this vendor owed us money, she neglected to tell them why this credit was needed in the first place. She had paid a vendor twice in error.


Last Friday, one of the owners called me instead of her because "Henrietta is under a lot of stress right now and I think you can help me with this." Oh really? So you, the owner, don't want to deal with her, your employee, because of her vicious temper and nasty personality, and so you call the underling instead. Ultimately, he was forced to go to her. There is only so much I can do, although it feels as if (some of) my coworkers feel I am not doing my job.


There is not a single person in the entire company who can relate to what hell this job has been since Tom Brandon left last April, even the ones who are kind. I have been doing 2 jobs for almost a year now, yet I am supposed to be current in everything I do and should be immediately available to address their needs. Add to this a manager who is a complete and total narcissist, someone so nasty that one of the owners called me instead of her when something came up.


I have applied for jobs over the past couple of months, but I never hear back. That might actually be a good thing though. I know someone who is brilliant, has a stellar work record and a high college degree, yet has the worst manager imaginable and ended up resigning. I think I am in more shock over this than my friend. I worked with this person for a long time; this never should have happened.


So perhaps I am best left where I am and eventually, the new accountant will be able to take over a lot of what I do. He has started taking tasks already, but has also commented to me that he gets so many e-mails there's no time to do his work.


Welcome to Glorious Products. Corporate America at it's best.







12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Own Personal Mommie Dearest

The basement flooded very badly this past spring and Dave wants to have it water proofed. Understandable. But this meant renting a storage unit so that all of the stuff I just moved in from my condo c

July 4th - The best holiday of them all

I have had several talks with myself about the pros and cons of posting publicly about one's personal experience with depression, but I have ultimately opted to keep going with this. Wix doesn't tell

Depression - The Gift that Keeps on Giving

They (whoever "they" are) say that journaling helps alleviate depression. Hello world, here I am, trying to alleviate my depression. When the depression first took over my life the weekend of my birth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page