top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDonna

Tale of the Little Coffee Mug

Yesterday, The New Awesome Co-Accountant, WD, and I were graced by the presence of Henrietta, our boss. She headed into the kitchen after putting her stuff down in her office. Two seconds later, she comes storming out toward us.


"Who took my coffee mug?!"

I take a look at the mug I am using, which I had gotten from the kitchen cabinet, the common area shared by all employees, and it says "Insperity" on it. I hold it up. "Is this yours?"

"No! My coffee mug is ceramic with flowers on it! I put it in the dishwasher to be cleaned, but it's MY mug!"

Anything that is in the dishwasher is assumed to be common area items and are put away in the common area cabinets of the common area kitchen which all employees can use. So....


WD says, "I have it."


She says, "Did you not notice my initials on the bottom of it? I want my coffee mug!"

WD goes to the kitchen, dumps out his coffee, washes the mug, and dutifully hands it to her. I get up from my chair to see how he is doing with this and he smiles and winks at me. Okay, good, he's not screaming and running out the door.

He has been there only 3 weeks yet has commented several times on the tone of the e-mails in which I am being lambasted for all the other employees to see, him included. One of his comments to me was, wow, that was really rude. She should have worded that better. I assured him that although some wrath will most likely come his way at some point, I get the brunt of it, and he shouldn't worry about it. Doesn't bother me, I lied.

I hope the new CFO brings about positive changes. Can't wait for him to come on board, even if cleaning house includes me too. I'll stock shelves at Stop and Shop.

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

My Own Personal Mommie Dearest

The basement flooded very badly this past spring and Dave wants to have it water proofed. Understandable. But this meant renting a storage unit so that all of the stuff I just moved in from my condo c

July 4th - The best holiday of them all

I have had several talks with myself about the pros and cons of posting publicly about one's personal experience with depression, but I have ultimately opted to keep going with this. Wix doesn't tell

Depression - The Gift that Keeps on Giving

They (whoever "they" are) say that journaling helps alleviate depression. Hello world, here I am, trying to alleviate my depression. When the depression first took over my life the weekend of my birth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page