top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDonna

Tuesday, May 26, 2020 The Art of Communicating

Yesterday I wrote the following post on Facebook:

Yet another saga of the Great Archeological Excavation.You have been warned :) Yesterday I found a pile of clothes in the bedroom closet I immediately recognized as the "Perhaps I will fit into these again someday" pile. I was about to include it with the Planet Aid stuff, but then I remembered that I had actually lost a pound right before the pandemic and was heading toward the road of wearing these clothes again. Long story less long, it inspired me to stop lamenting over the closure of my gym and do something at home instead. I have developed a 20 minute work out that will eventually be an hour, but I have two and half months of sedentary I need to fix and to re-lose the 5 pounds it took so long to shed. That's where this lovely song comes in. I use this to cool down at the end of my routine. The woman in this video is the daughter of a dear friend of mine. Even if she wasn't my friend's daughter, I would still say she has great vocal talent, and I love listening to her sing, as well as her music partner. Rivers Between also performs their own compositions. Worth checking out.


I got the following comment:

If you didn't know you had the clothes...donate. Heck, maybe you can make room for your yarn and save money on the rental unit.


The post I made was supposed to be light, tongue in cheek and a way of incorporating kudos to my friend's daughter. The comment I got in response was meant to be helpful and is not mean in any way, but I feel as if I didn't write this post very well since this is the comment I got. So...is my writing really crap after all or is it just the interpretation of the reader? If it's the latter, isn't it still my job to write it so that the actual point is clear?


I did say I was going to donate the clothes to Planet Aid, but then changed my mind. Incorporating exercise back into my life was the real point of the post.


Should I ever write for real or keep it to silly FB posts?

13 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Own Personal Mommie Dearest

The basement flooded very badly this past spring and Dave wants to have it water proofed. Understandable. But this meant renting a storage unit so that all of the stuff I just moved in from my condo c

July 4th - The best holiday of them all

I have had several talks with myself about the pros and cons of posting publicly about one's personal experience with depression, but I have ultimately opted to keep going with this. Wix doesn't tell

Depression - The Gift that Keeps on Giving

They (whoever "they" are) say that journaling helps alleviate depression. Hello world, here I am, trying to alleviate my depression. When the depression first took over my life the weekend of my birth

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page